A.Vogel Blog


home / Gut tune-up week / bristol scale

Bristol Scale

The Bristol stool scale or Bristol stool chart is a medical aid designed to classify the form of human faeces into seven categories. The form of the stool is a useful surrogate measure of colon transit time.

The seven types of stool are:

  • Types 1 and 2 indicate constipation.
  • Types 3 and 4 being the ideal stools (especially the latter), as they are easy to defecate while not containing excess liquid.
  • Types 5, 6 and 7 tending towards diarrhea.

Click on the image to enlarge


What do you think?

Have you found what you read useful? If so, I would love if you would leave your comment below. Thanks Sonia Chartier

Share this page!

Follow us on Facebook!

0 article in you cart